Latest News

Empty Seats

Fri 7 Aug, 2015

The Blackley Band welcome applicants for a few empty seats. We are a busy 4th section band in North Manchester… Read more

51st Dinner Dance

Tue 30 Jun, 2015

We recently held our annual dinner dance at Middleton Pavilion, as always the evening was a huge success and a… Read more

Blackley Band at the Black Dyke Festival

Fri 5 Jun, 2015

A few of our members attended the Black Dyke Festival of Music in Leeds Town Hall on May 17th, it… Read more

St Georges Day Celebration

Mon 27 Apr, 2015

Sunday 26th April we participated in a parade and service around part of Blackley with a whole host support from… Read more

Sign up to our mailing list

Thu 9 Apr, 2015

If you’d like Blackley Band updates direct to your inbox, just fill out your details below and we’ll send you… Read more

Meet our new MD – John Atkinson

Tue 7 Apr, 2015

John graduated from the University of Salford in 2007 having studied brass band arranging with Peter Graham; soprano cornet performance… Read more

New MD Announcement

Sun 22 Mar, 2015

The Blackley Band are pleased to announce that John Atkinson has accepted the position of MD. We look forward to… Read more

Preston Prizes

Tue 3 Feb, 2015

Sunday February 1st saw the band perform at Preston Guild Hall in the 4th Section contest. The band opted to… Read more

Musical Director Vacancy – March 2015

Mon 1 Dec, 2014

Please see the main story to apply for the Musical Director position, all enquiries are treated in the strictest confidence. 

A Sorry Goodbye (almost)

We are saddened to say that Dan has decided that his time with Blackley is coming to an end, his decision to leave is in order for him to focus on his expanding compsosing and publishing business and his time lecturing at Salford University. 

Dan will continue to take the band until we find a replacement and to the North West areas in March.

Click to read more.